Day 2

Thankful for: Advice

Life after college is strange.

Before and during college, advice went in one ear and out the other. Now, I cannot seem to get enough. Why? Because life after college is strange. Much, much stranger than I ever imagined.

People keep asking what the 5-year plan is. Sure, that happened in college, but I could effectively avoid the question: “Oh, I just want to work with people. I love people. I love my communication classes; let me tell you what I learned in my persuasion class yesterday!”

Now, people want answers. They also want to see proof of those answers.

It is not just the “5-year plan” question that has changed, it is the decision-making process. Decisions no longer make themselves. I actually have to pick where I want to live and work, how long I want to stay there, and who I want to spend time with while there.

The easy solution is to view everything as temporary. I see this all the time. For example, “I know I’ll only be in ‘grad school or job X’ for 2-3 years, so I’m not going to take the time to invest in the community here.”

This past weekend I got to spend time with a friend who is just a few years further down the road than me. She is single and now in her third (super cool) job since college.

Her advice to me: Wherever you move/live, act like you’re going to live there the rest of your life.

Wait, what?

I admit I have heard that advice before. From Mom. (Yes. That was in the pre-listen-to-advice stage). I dismissed it then because I just assumed having this “temporary” mentality was wise.

After all, isn’t heaven my eternal home? Does the Bible not say “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where thief and moth can destroy?”

People are not things. It is not a mistake where I live, not a mistake where you live.

((photo credit))

True, it might be temporary. Invest in people, in the community like it’s permanent.

When you own a house, you take special care of it, make improvements, and invest time and money into it. What if we lived like that in the community where we are right now?

What advice are you thankful for today?

(Read this post for an introduction to Thanksgiving Awareness Month)

One thought on “Day 2

Leave a Reply

