Day 6

Thankful for: Adoption.

Besides being the month of Thanksgiving, November is also National Adoption Month. Today, November 6, is Orphan Sunday.

“Defend the cause of the fatherless” -Isaiah 1:17

I had never heard of Orphan Sunday until I read a post by Heather Hendrick from her vantage point in Haiti, “Orphan Sunday: November 6: Preventing Orphans” (read it read it read it!)

Since around 70% of my posts will probably have some kind of link to Heather’s blog, let me give you some background on her. In college I attended Living Hope Baptist Church in College Station. Heather and Jen BacakΒ taught a Bible Study called “Her Hands” for single girls. Basically it was a class where they taught us everything they wish someone would have told them before they got married. It was amazing. They also stressed the importance of having a mentor. Arguably this class taught me more about how to live as a woman of the Lord than anything else.

Anyway, Heather may or may not remember me, but I have continued to keep up with her and her family through her blog. She and her husband Aaron moved to Haiti with their four boys in the fall of 2010.

Heather has been working with an organization called Heartline, that works with pregnant women, teaching them basic motherhood skills and philosophies. For example, because these women see that formula comes from the USA, they assume it is better for their babies than breastfeeding. The formula is expensive, so sometimes other things are missed. Heather and the women explain the gifts, like breastfeeding, the Lord has already naturally given them!

Through Heartline and other ministries in Haiti, the Hendricks work to prevent orphans. These women might have just given up their babies for adoption because they assumed it would be better for them.

I do not pretend to be any sort of expert in orphan care or adoption. In fact, before meeting the Hendricks and the Bacaks, and before moving to Pine Cove, I had never seen families really caring for orphans in such tangible ways.

Eager to learn more, this summer I read this book:

I highly recommend it. It helped me understand that I have been adopted into God’s family as his child! Astonishing. I have seen that adoption is a beautiful picture of the gospel, but few times have I actually dwelt on how thankful I am to be adopted as a child of God.

“Through adoption God graciously brings us to participate in the reciprocal love that ever flows between the Father and his Son. Not only is this the very heart of adoption; it is also the very heart of the gospel.” -Dan Cruver, chapter 2 Reclaiming Adoption

I am so thankful for the gospel. We did nothing to be chosen by God. Saved by grace through faith.

“For He chose us in Him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in His sight. In love He predestined us to be adopted as His sons through Jesus Christ, in accordance with His pleasure and will.” -Ephesians 1:4-5

Be sure to read more about Orphan Sunday today. I found the website very helpful and informative.

2 thoughts on “Day 6

  1. Pingback: No Longer Orphans « the color of sunshine

  2. Pingback: A Forever Family | the color of sunshine

Leave a Reply

