Day 9

Thankful for: Roommates.

After my college roommates, I was convinced I could never love any others more.

I just adore these girls! I have been in two of their weddings, and seen them become grown-ups. I never thought that would happen. I got to have a fun reunion with a few of them last week, which was the best! Kim Davis, on the far right, now lives in gorgeous Boulder, Colorado. I hate that I don’t get to see her as much, but it made my visit there in August that much sweeter!

I got to live with those girls most of college, which was the best. They made home fun, joyful, and hilarious. I am incredibly thankful for the time we had together!

When I first got my job in Tyler, I was the most nervous about who I would live with. I was just put into a house with other single girls here, and I was nervous. What if they were too cool for me? What if we never really connected? What if we were just “work friends” and never got below surface-level?

I was wrong.

Left to right: Elizabeth or “Cheno”, me Hannah, and Melanie. Just consider us BFF’s.

It’s interesting, because I have lived in Tyler for a year and a half, and I have had seven different roommates! The consistent ones have been Cheno and Melanie. I am overwhelmingly thankful for these girls!

Our jobs can be stressful sometimes, but these two are crazy positive. I joke that I’m the one that has to “counter all the excessive optimism in the house.” Also, they both incredibly servant-minded. I do not think I have ever met girls who so consistently follow Philippians 2 with their lives. Doing the dishes, making our house feel cozy, and listening to my endless stories are only the tip of the iceberg.

I am so very thankful for these girls. I am confident the Lord orchestrated them into my life for such a time as this. I have learned so much from them.

For more fun thanksgiving awareness posts, check out another lovely former roommate of mine: Mallory. This post about what her students are thankful for had me smiling yesterday!

2 thoughts on “Day 9

  1. You have no idea how thankful I am for you!!! I couldn’t have made it in this job without you! Okay, the Lord would have given me the strength, but you make it fun and funny! If I had a blog, at least a blog I consistently wrote on, I would write about how thankful I am for you!!

  2. Pingback: New Roommates! « the color of sunshine

Leave a Reply

