Day 13

Thankful for: prayer

I recently learned that today, November 13, is officially the International Day of Prayer for the Persecuted Church.

This year I have been constantly learning more about prayer. I have a friend who challenged me daily this summer with her insights into intercession.

“Continue steadfastly in prayer, being watchful in it with thanksgiving.” -Colossians 4:2 (esv)

Honestly, it makes sense to write a post about prayer. Prayer and thanksgiving go hand in hand!

Prayer can be defined a number of ways. An ongoing conversation with the Lord. Praise. Thanksgiving. Petition. A list. A journal of honest thoughts. A walk. A sunset. Laying of hands. Blessing. Pleading. Burdens lifted.

The thing is, I know I am where the Lord wants me right now. But I live in the US. I do not live overseas among the world’s neediest. I do not get persecuted for my faith. I am not living with an unreached people group sharing the gospel.

Sometimes, this really hurts. I know the needs. Yet, here I am.

While sharing these deep heart-longings with the friend I mentioned above, she challenged me again. “The most powerful thing you can do anywhere is pray, Chelsea. Are you doing that?”

Gulp.

I decided to respond to this truthful confrontation in two ways. One, I am more and more convinced that I need to remind myself daily of the gospel. Nothing makes me feel more humble and thankful. This is the necessary foundation I need before I come before the Father.

Two, I have loved learning how to pray more intentionally for the world, particularly through this book:

The website has a “featured nation” per day. The book also has a featured nation per day also, plus it is an excellent resource. I love to look up an obscure country in the book when I hear about it in the news. It really is the best tool I have found to keep me focused and intentional as I pray for the world.

“Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” -1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Leave a Reply

