Day 22

Thankful for: Best Friends

Admittedly, I have a lot of best friends. Some would argue that there can only be one “best.” I wholeheartedly disagree!

I have been overwhelmingly blessed with great girls in my life. Specifically, I am so thankful for these two!

Jen (left) and I drove to Memphis in August to stay with Lacey (middle) in her adorable home. This was quite a joyous occasion, because it was the first time all three of us had been together since just after college graduation in summer 2009! Crazy.

Thankfully, this past weekend, Jen and Lacey made impressively long drives to Dallas for a wedding of some dear friends, plus we have another wedding/reunion in just three weeks!

I absolutely love these girls. We met in college, and became inseparable senior year. Lacey and Jen were roommates, and lived just down the street from me. After graduation, Jen and I trekked across the Pacific to travel Australia and New Zealand together! It has been so beautiful to see them both grow in the Lord through college and since.

Lacey now lives in inner city Memphis, and works with a non-profit called A Way Out, that helps women get out of the sex-for-sale industry. My favorite part of visiting her is seeing how she and others live as “intentional neighbors,” loving the poor while living on their street. The Lord is working in big ways there, and Lacey is passionate about her life and mission there.

Jen is currently in transition, and just finished up eleven weeks of training in North Carolina. She is headed to Thailand with United World MissionΒ in February for two years to work with university students and share the gospel. With less than 2% of the population being Christian, Thailand is considered unreached. Jen is the one who convinced me to take a Perspectives class last year, and consistently challenges me on how I view the world.

I am so proud of these girls, and beyond-words-thankful for them. I love that we regularly talk on the phone, and intentionally plan reunions together. Here is to many more years of best friendship!

Leave a Reply

