Day 24: Conclusions

Thankful for: being thankful.

((can I do that?))

It’s here! Thanksgiving is here! So excited to spend this week with my dear family and friends.

Every year, before we begin eating our Thanksgiving lunch, everyone goes around and says what they are thankful for. It takes me off guard every time. “Oh, um, I’m thankful for my family and friends.” We all say it. The same thing. It’s true, but that’s not the point. We rush through it. The one obligatory time a year, while we hope the turkey isn’t getting too cold, we say out loud what we are thankful for.

This year, I made a plan. I decided Thanksgiving was not going to sneak up on me. I was somewhat inspired by a book I have never read in this endeavor..

Like I said, I have not read this yet. It does have a really cute cover though.. Ha. Several friends I love and trust have highly recommended it. Basically, this woman struggles with contentment, and forced herself to write down things she is thankful for.

I also struggle with being content. Honestly, my idea to write down daily things I am thankful for was just to celebrate Thanksgiving. Little did I know it would have deeper effects. Recently I have noticed changes in my heart. Thankfulness is directly correlated to my contentment.

No wonder God places such importance on giving thanks. All of us say we are earnestly seeking God’s will for our lives. I strongly believe we find it through obedience.

((photo credit))

I am thankful the Lord has rescued me out of utter darkness. Thankful that He continues to teach me and draw me to Himself. Thankful that this year I have a new perspective and foundation for ministry. My thankfulness will not end today.

Enjoy Thanksgiving with your family and friends! Much love.

 

One thought on “Day 24: Conclusions

  1. Funny how I considered writing a VERY similar post for today. Now I don’t know what to write! Thanks for challenging me to write these posts. I know the Lord still has some big ways to grow me in the area of contentment, but it is so easy to see what a GOOD and gracious and sovereign and providential King we serve! I for one have loved reading your heart through these posts. Want to find me a job in Tyler and I’ll come live with you again? Kidding…but only a little πŸ™‚ Love you Chels. So thankful for YOU!

Leave a Reply

