Recent Reading Recommendations

It must have something to do with the fewer hours of light these days. I have read a lot lately! If you are looking to add to your 2012 reading list, here are some of my suggestions:

I mentioned in an earlier post that I had saved this book to read over Christmas break, and oh my it was fabulous. I have kept up with Katie’s blog for a few years now, and have loved reading her story. I was so excited to receive this book in the mail from a generous Pine Cove family that love to shower my roommates and I with gifts!

I love the way Katie writes her story (so far- she’s only 22!) with grace and honesty. It is a beautiful book. I cannot recommend it enough.

This is a kids book. Technically I could probably call it “adolescent literature.” Either way, this new series called the Wingfeather Saga by the talented Andrew Peterson has absorbed my time the last couple weeks! I am not usually a huge fan of fantasy, but after being incredibly impressed by Andrew Peterson’s Behold the Lamb of God concert in Tyler in December, I am now interested in whatever he does.

There are three books in the series so far, and yes, it is children’s fantasy. But the underlying themes are fantastic! Identity, courage, love, trust, forgiveness.. it is all there. Kids will love these, but I would argue that anyone would. They are entertaining and very well written, showcasing Peterson’s limitless imagination!

Truth be told, 9 times out of 10 I am going to go for an old well-written love story. I try to make myself read biographies and other intelligent books, but the draw is always to books like this one. My grandfather was constantly reading, and this book was his favorite. Finally while I was home over Christmas I picked it up off of his shelf. It was fabulous.

The story follows a young British girl who had survived serious trauma during World War II as a prisoner of war in Malaysia. She tells of the trauma, then decides to make the move to the Outback of Australia to see if he is still there. (Alice Springs is a central hub in the Outback)

It is such a sweet story. I loved it. I see why my grandfather recommended it so strongly!

I have not finished reading this one yet, but Heather Hendrick wrote this excellent post last week highlighting it, and recommending it for Lent. It was only $8.99 on the kindle, and I have been encouraged and challenged already by just reading the Introduction! After realizing what a beautiful time Advent could be in preparation for Christmas, I have decided that it would be wise to do more than just “give up sugar” in preparation for Easter.

Lent. 40 days. More to come on this.

Here is a link to the promo video Chris Seay made. It will explain the book better than I can!

To view the daily videos:  here’s the link.

Have any recommendations for me?

3 thoughts on “Recent Reading Recommendations

  1. Pingback: Winter Reading | the color of sunshine

Leave a Reply

