Lent: Preparation & Repentance

I confess I have never thought much about Lent.

I’m not Catholic. Occasionally in my family we would all “give up something” for the season before Easter, but personally I never connected that sacrifice with a season intended for preparation and repentance.

As usual, I was first inspired by Heather’s post a few weeks ago. She spoke highly of a book called A Place at the Table by Chris Seay, so naturally I went and bought it on Amazon right away. I am really excited, because it includes a 40-day devotional. She then wrote another post about Lenten season, listing several resources.

The Village Church put together a great blog post explaining Lent. They also put together this free guide through the season.

“Lent is about the gospel. It is a time to narrow the focus of the Church to the work of Christ, in particular His life and death, a season to turn from sin and trust in His atoning work.

It is easy to get lost in the cultural caricature of Easter and miss the meaning. Lent is a reminder that the resurrection only occurred after the crucifixion. Rather than skipping over the ministry and crucifixion of Christ, Lent is a season to prepare ourselves for the joy of Resurrection Sunday as we symbolically enter the sorrow and pain which preceded it.”

In December I first discovered the beauty of Advent. I tend to get so busy in the holiday season that I forget to meditate on that season of ultimate hope. Christmas services always sneak up on me. Easter is another story. At least at Christmas everyone is talking about it. Easter? I hardly spend any time in preparation.

This season of Lent I have decided to take some time to focus. Knowing that Godly sorrow leads to repentance, I will step back to ask the Lord of what I need to repent. Through several different avenues, I have been learning a lot about repentance. As a believer in Christ, I have been saved by grace. But I am still a sinner, in constant need of forgiveness. Whatever I sacrifice through this season, my inspiration comes from Deuteronomy chapter 30. Concluding the books of the Law, the Lord explains to the Israelites that they will mess up. To obtain God’s forgiveness, they must repent. He concludes with this beautiful verse:

“I call heaven and earth to witness against you today, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and curse. Therefore choose life, that you and your offspring may live, loving the LORD your God, obeying his voice and holding fast to him.” -Deuteronomy 30:19-20a

Choose life, holding fast to him.

A sweet season of preparation and repentance awaits.

((photo credit))

If you have other great resources for Lent, please post them! I’d love to see them.

2 thoughts on “Lent: Preparation & Repentance

  1. Pingback: For Lent | the color of sunshine

  2. Pingback: the best kind of homework | finchlove

Leave a Reply

