The Greener Grass

((photo credit))

The first time I saw this happening while I drove to work one day, I thought it was hilarious. Country life: personifying a fallen world by lack of contentment. Who knew?

Last week I went to the Catalyst Conference in Dallas. The time was packed with great speakers, talented musicians, and plenty of ridiculous antics in between to keep us laughing and the transitions smooth.

The content was inspiring, challenging, and refreshing. It’s a good thing I took decent notes.

Judah Smith was the final speaker, and he spoke about “going home.” He emphasized the importance of being present (which also happened to be the theme of the conference).

I kept thinking, “this should not as revolutionary as it sounds in my head.”

He called us “the most vacating generation in history.” Is he wrong? Do we not all have this “yeah, I’ll be here 2 years max” mentality? Forget our own sanity, how will we maintain meaningful relationships in ministry with no roots?

Jesus said foxes have holes, and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head. (Matthew 8:20) If we follow him, we should expect no different. True. Sometimes it is time to leave.

But good grief. I can paralyze myself by continually looking ahead, entertaining endless “what if’s” in my head, and envying someone else’s cool job, trendy city, brilliant 5-year plan, “better” ministry, perfect partnership with that NGO, etc.

Be present? But sometimes the grass doesn’t look green here.

Then he nonchalantly said something brilliant. I think I audibly gasped.

Bummer though- Judah didn’t make it up. That’s what pinterest-land said anyway:

((photo credit))

I’m sort of ashamed to admit that a well-executed cliche can have a profound effect on me. Rhetoric. Gets me every time.

Be present. Cultivate contentment. Easiest way to start: the lost discipline of being thankful.

One thought on “The Greener Grass

  1. Do you want to start a garden? I LOVE landscape! Let’s do it.

    And no, that comment doesn’t mean i missed the point of this post.

Leave a Reply

