Summer Plans

Working at a summer camp, naturally we are about to embark on our busiest season! Some of our summer staffers actually come in today for training. I cannot wait to meet them!

Still, when I am the busiest, I tend to get the most done. Here are some other plans I have for the summer:

1. Read a lot.

I heard Bob Goff speak last week at Catalyst, and was immediately captivated by his stories. I even bought the book right there, full price, at the conference. For a kindle-lover like myself, that’s a big deal. (But hey, the cover is super cute!)

I’m about 1/4 of the way through the book so far, and I love it. I highly recommend it for your summer reading! To all the non-readers out there, each chapter is a story that could stand alone. It’s perfect for anyone with a fear of committing to a book. And you will be inspired. It’s a win-win-win people.

2. Finish some craft projects.

We inherited several old frames with the new house, and I keep refusing to get rid of them because I’m determined to turn a few into cute chalkboards. I already have the chalkboard paint, yet the frames have still not budged from their original location. Hopefully at least one will end up looking something like this:

((photo credit))

Except it won’t say anything about a Catherine. That would be weird.

3. Master an iced-coffee recipe.

I think I craved iced coffee every single day last summer, but never made it. Now I’m ready for it. I even bought cheese cloth this week for the preparation steps. The lady in Bed Bath & Beyond just stared at me when I told her what I was looking for. What did she think that “Beyond” meant?

((photo credit— it will probably be some variation of this recipe from my newest BFF Ree))

4. Celebrate!

Yesterday was my cool sister’s 18th birthday (what?!), she graduates from high school June 2 (double what?!), Mom has a birthday in June, several best friends have birthdays throughout the summer, and I’ve lost count of how many weddings are coming up before the leaves change again. Needless to say, I need to go buy some dresses.

((photo credit))

I love summer. While my summers don’t bring as much freedom as they used to, the season is unmatched. I could complain about long hours or hot melt-your-face-off weather, but I work at a summer camp with a mission statement to transform the lives of people through and for the gospel of Jesus. I love it.

I will also be praying for the some 20,000 sweet campers entering our gates this summer. Every person has a story, and I cannot wait to meet them!

2 thoughts on “Summer Plans

  1. You make me laugh out loud all the time, and I love it. Favorite iced coffee tip I’ve ever received: freeze leftover coffee (just the regular old brewed stuff) and use those frozen coffee cubes in your iced coffee. When they melt, it won’t get watered down. Yay!

  2. Pingback: The Past Few Weeks « the color of sunshine

Leave a Reply

