The Past Few Weeks

((Please excuse me as I dust off the cobwebs in here))

I have not blogged in over three weeks. Um, oops?

Working at a camp that peaks in summer, it makes sense for the first three weeks to be completely consumed, but it still was never my intention to go so long between posts!

Here’s a little catch-up post explaining what has been going on lately:

1. We had Orientation!Β 

At Pine Cove, we like to do things pretty big. For example, to introduce our staff handbook, The Way, some of the highly talented PC creatives put this together:

Isn’t that incredible? Halfway through the video, the live dancers came out on stage and joined in, followed by strategically placed dancers in the crowd for an epic flash mob. I love where I work.
2. My sister graduated from high school!
And yes, I did make those bunting flags. Along with a million cookies. It was a party- what else would I do?
She has a few fans in the family, I think.
I am so grateful I got to be a part of such a special celebration! Look out, University of Arkansas, Caitlin Williams is coming soon!
3. I started on some of those summer plans
Β 
I am just a couple chapters away from finishing Love Does by Bob Goff, and I still highly recommend it! I have had more jaw-dropping moments reading his stories than can fit on just my fingers. Really, read it.
Also, I have been living on my yummy brew of iced coffee in between long hours at camp! It was a lot simpler than I anticipated, and I just modified this version.
Mix one cup of your favorite fair trade ground coffee with 2 quarts of water in a pitcher, cover, and let sit overnight. (I let mine sit for around 14 hours, because my schedule is weird.) Then I just poured the mixture into another pitcher, strained through a couple layers of cheesecloth (found with some assistance at bed bath & beyond), and that’s it!
Kristen gave a great tip- make ice cubes out of brewed coffee left over so it won’t get too watered down.
I also sweetened it with some soy milk and simple vanilla syrup: equal parts sugar and water, brought to a boil on the stove plus 1-2 tsp. vanilla extract. Pour into a mason jar and keep refrigerated. Mmmm.
I hereby promise not to leave this place so dusty. Happy summer!

One thought on “The Past Few Weeks

  1. Wish I could have been there to see that cheesecloth in action…

    “Custom need assistance on isle 3” Oh the memories at Bed Bath and Beyond…I guess cheesecloth fits in the Beyond category!

    MISSING YOU RIGHT NOW!!!

    And, yes, we are VERY talented PC staff!

Leave a Reply

