Fair Trade E-Party!

Dear Everyone,

I have the best idea.

We women, we love shopping. Especially when shopping=buying pretty scarves, earrings, and accessories for ourselves or our best friends, and not shopping=grocery store. After all, those florescent lights seriously do nothing for the complexion.

But long, beaded necklaces? Hand-crafted jewelry? Mmm my head starts swimming with the possibilities. My heart even gets involved when someone tells me my new favorite designs are hand-made by women in third-world countries, using their talented design skills to earn a fair living for their precious children in an unfair world.

I’m obsessed with fair trade, and the ideas of women empowering women all over the world. Plus- score! Awesome unique jewelry to boot! It’s why I love sseko sandals. (Don’t have any? Add it to your Christmas list ASAP. You’re welcome.)

So here’s the idea: I recently discovered an organization called Trades of Hope. Women in the USA become “Compassion Entrepreneurs” to advocate and sell for women all over the world. These women live in Haiti, Uganda, Mumbai, Peru, India, Nepal, The Philippines, and each of them have a story. Some have been rescued from sex-trafficking. Some grew up in extreme poverty, their husbands left them, and they were completely hopeless. Then they learned how to create something beautiful, and they were able to earn respect and an income to keep their families off the streets. Women helping Women. Beautiful.

((photo credit + click to read more stories))

I am hosting an e-party, and you’re invited! I’m sending out the e-vite today to all the friends who I think would be interested, plus you! If you want to be sure to get invited, comment here with your email or send me a note: chelsea.elizabethwATgmailDOTcom. (take that, spammers)

These are lovely, beautiful products all under $50. In the e-vite, I’ll send an attachment to the fantastic catalogue, filled with vibrant colors and the perfect Christmas gifts. I have already decided that all of my gifts this year will be handmade or fair trade. I recognize that plan in itself will take some, um, planning, and I am still on the hunt for the perfect dad gift, so just say no to procrastination, and join the party!

To shop, click here: Trades of Hope, then be sure to type “Hostess Chelsea Williams” in the special notes at checkout.

E-Party dates: Thursday September 20 – Thursday September 27. Don’t miss it!

“Every time you spend money, you’re casting a vote for the kind of world you want.” -Anna Lappe

Learn More about Fair Trade:

Article: “Why Fair Trade?

Via Trade as One, “Why Fair Trade?”

Hi my name is Heather and I’m a modern-day slave owner by Heather Hendrick

The Christmas Conundrum by Jen Hatmaker

Trades of Hope on Facebook

Trades of Hope on Twitter

3 thoughts on “Fair Trade E-Party!

  1. Pingback: New Roommates! « the color of sunshine

Leave a Reply

