The 31 Bits Party

IMG_2261I must admit, I am still a bit giddy from the 31 Bits party we threw last night!

If you have talked with me much this semester, you know my mind has been in a million places. Set off by reading 7 by Jen Hatmaker, I realized I have way too much stuff, then when I do buy stuff, sometimes it is made by slaves, then there are people who live on less than $1 a day, and they’re stuck in these endless cycles of poverty.. and I have so much. I have so much stuff, yes, but also I have so much hope. How to bridge this disconnect? What can be done?

Ashley (mentioned in the 7 post above) and I have become research-extraordinaires during this season! We have googled, read blogs, read books, and learned an immense amount of information. We also have discovered a multitude of fair trade companies, that seek to bridge the gap and empower people in third-world countries. We found a lot, and most of them were cool, but we probably would not buy anything from them.

But then, we gasped. We found 31 Bits.

Indentity from 31 Bits on Vimeo.

The video above will give you a great idea of who these people are and what they do. In a nutshell, there is a group of very talented girls out in LA who made a trip to Uganda, and wanted to help empower the amazing women they found there. They decided they could use fashion and design to empower these women through business, and 31 Bits was founded.

IMG_2264

This jewelry is incredible. Not only that, but their website is also expertly designed, and the company is very well-run. I so appreciate all the details and thought they put into everything!

Eager to get involved, Ashley and I decided to host a house party for Christmas to display and sell some of their fabulous products. I love having friends and roommates who are always up for a party! We loved it!

IMG_2279

IMG_2320It was fun to check some gifts off our Christmas lists (and maybe snag a few for ourselves too), while simultaneously supporting Ugandan women. Since my new future brother and sister are in Uganda now, the cause is understandably close to my heart!

In the photo above, see the two sitting on the couch laughing at that book? That would be our always-a-hit coffee table book: Awkward Family Photos. We’re really mature. Oh and Mel had command of the camera most of the night. As evidenced below:

IMG_2313

We had some yummy snacks (of course), including my favorite shortbread cookies, peppermint puppy chow, stove hot chocolate, and peppermint whipped cream!

Ashley and I have always loved throwing parties, but I think this was one of our favorites. Be inspired. Go check out 31 Bits. (website, twitter, facebook, pinterest) You’ll love them. ((and so will anyone who receives them!))

IMG_2324

IMG_2329

4 thoughts on “The 31 Bits Party

  1. Pingback: Noonday Party Recap | the color of sunshine

  2. Pingback: The Simple Closet | the color of sunshine

Leave a Reply

