Faith Moves

Sometimes God asks his children to do crazy things. The Bible is full of stories requiring courageous followers, because the commands are not always clear.

Hebrews 11 is full of these stories.

“By faith Noah, when warned about things not yet seen…”

“By faith Abraham, when called to go to a place… obeyed and went, even though he did not know where he was going…”

” By faith Moses’ parents hid him for three months after he was born, because they saw he was no ordinary child…”

” By faith Moses… regarded disgrace for the sake of Christ as of greater value than the treasures of Egypt…”

“By faith the people passed through the Red Sea as on dry land…”

“By faith the walls of Jericho fell…”

“By faith the prostitute Rahab, because she welcomed the spies was not killed with those who were disobedient…”

Then the author of Hebrews “runs out of room,” but casually mentions the miraculous stories of Gideon, David, Samuel, Isaiah, Jeremiah… The list is never-ending.

And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.”  -Hebrews 11:6

jumpMom sent me this card a couple of years ago, as I was making some big decisions. I loved it so much, I kept it and still have it on a shelf in my room. It reminds me to have courage enough to jump. I’m not courageous by nature. At all. I hate heights, taking risks, unfamiliar things, and most things I’m just not sure of.

I prayed for courage this year, but have come to realize that my courage is not necessarily the answer. It takes courage to jump, but it takes faith to follow and obey.

This summer I realized my time at Pine Cove was coming to a close. My time at the best job ever. The job I have loved for 2 1/2 years now, where I get to invest in people, travel, share the gospel, teach the Word, and work with some of the greatest people I have ever met, it’s all coming to a close.

I knew it was coming. I knew all along I would max out in this position after 2 – 3 years. Yet I still had tears in my eyes when I told my boss it was time. Ever the slow-mover, I told him in July I wanted to leave in January, to give myself some time to finish well, search for a new job, and wrap my heart around the changes to come.

((Deep breath))

It was a scary decision for me, even though I knew it was the right one, and I knew the Lord’s hand was with me the whole time, pressing into me to trust Him. He told me to believe that all His promises are true, so I held on tight, and waited, full of faith.

Last week I was offered a job, and accepted a position at Watermark Church in Dallas. I will be the new Family Ministries Assistant, and am still in awe of how perfectly the Lord provided! I’m thrilled about the job, and I am eager to get started! Working at Watermark  has always been one of those back-burner dreams for me, and I can hardly believe it is coming to fruition! Not to mention how excited I am to be in Dallas again, closer to home and to so many dear friends!

Through all of this, I have so clearly seen how good and strong and loving and faithful God is. But I have not just seen this because I now have a job. Because whether or not God answers exactly how I want, He is still good and strong and loving and faithful. And I’m still His. And His promises are all true. 

4 thoughts on “Faith Moves

  1. Pingback: Year Three:: Peru « the color of sunshine

  2. Pingback: Of Change and 2013 | the color of sunshine

Leave a Reply

