The Dreamers

You know the people I’m talking about. They’re the ones who leave you refreshed and inspired. They don’t drag down the day, they infuse light into even the darkest, weirdest circumstances.

I think that’s what I miss about college the most. Those “dream” conversations were everywhere.

To be clear, I’m not talking about the “be whatever you want to be!” propaganda. That’s just not true. I’m never going to be a British Royal, for example, no matter how much I’d love it..

There are some people who see the world, and see the good to be done. Then they go do it. In the midst of the planning and the blueprinting and the research, they share, inspire, dream, and act.

My college friends are dreamers to the max. We would often sit around a backyard firepit answering the question, “What would you do if you knew you wouldn’t fail?”

There are a handful of people in my life these days that are like that, and sometimes I’m admittedly nervous to bring up a topic with them, because I know what direction the conversation will be headed, and it’s scary sometimes. Moving to a new place seems to bring out shallow conversations in droves, but thankfully I’ve met a few new girls here who are dreamers! My heart has rejoiced in these meetings.

Today I saw Jen Hatmaker post this short video, and I loved it. She’s talking directly to women leading other women, and my heart started beating faster as she honed in deeper:

“Don’t just think of all your women as struggling with insecurity, inferiority, and perfection. That makes it sound like we’re a bunch of sob sisters. I Think of them as brave, capable, educated, passionate, and obedient… Mobilize them for great good.”

Can I get an amen?

Go dream, friends. Then go sit across from a dreamer, and make those dreams reality.

((If you’re still feeling uninspired, go read Love Does by Bob Goff. Yes.))

One thought on “The Dreamers

  1. love this, love how you inspire, love that you live a life of a dreamer, love your determination, love you! ps, i have Bob Goff’s book and it’s in the line up to read (which means i’m on track with the #ChelseaBookClub book list without even knowing it — score!), but if and when you come to Ug to visit your soon-to-be bro + sis, I can take you to meet Bob, or at least a few of the people who work with him. I haven’t met him personally yet, but I have heard great things from his people. Plus his people are great people! Extra excited to read his book now 🙂
    keep dreaming and following so diligently as God leads you to and through things/dreams He’s placed in you — Love it! Love you!

Leave a Reply

