How to be a Goal-Maker

I used to shudder at the idea of making goals.97b4fc71b947c190a3cb16598b2fe745

It’s not because I don’t want to work hard, or get places, or accomplish things (I’m a queen list-maker!), but something about making goals is very intimidating.

Once in a job I was forced to write out my “development plan.” I just stared at the screen for a solid 15 minutes wondering what on earth that meant. Personal? Work? Family? What, exactly, was I developing?

Maybe it’s saying them out loud, or having to tell my boss the said “development plan” that stressed me out, but either way, it was a beating. I felt a little mocked by that empty screen, and eventually determined I just wasn’t the goal-making type.

Imagine my amazement then, when a friend recently mentioned her “new goals for the quarter.” (Who thinks of their lives in quarters? And who actually makes goals for each quarter?)

Since we are real friends, she explained her strategy:

Only make one goal at a time.

Revolutionary.

We discussed how probably I set too many goals at once, which sets me up for failure. Instead, she suggested to only make one goal, make it measurable and doable, then do it every single day. For me, to “write more,” my goal is to write every day. Even if it’s only one sentence, just getting the pen to paper will automatically increase the writing.

After one month, the original goal becomes a new habit, and it might be okay to set a new goal in place.

Amazing.

I’m only in month one, and maybe it’s not as revolutionary as I’m saying it is, but everyone should try it. What is there to lose?

PS- don’t give up after one slip up. In the wise words of Lady Sybil, “No one hits the bullseye with the first arrow.”

Leave a Reply

