Winter Reading

So Winter = way less sunlight, which means it’s on me to find some indoor entertainment. Sure, there were the Olympics, but that was only two weeks, and also some of those events required a book in my hands. I’m looking at you, hockey/curling/speed skating because we kept losing.

Regardless, I have been reading, and here are the best ones!

winter books1. The Fellowship of the Ring (book #1 of the Lord of the Rings series) by JRR Tolkien

I finally read it you guys. I decided I could hardly call myself a reader of literature without reading the LOTR series. That, and I kept getting overly confused in the movies. Why is every name only one letter apart? Sauron? Saruman? Regardless, I was not disappointed. Brilliant prose, excellent character development, and undoubtedly unmatched creativity in a storyline. I’ve started the second one but I had to take a break in between. Thus, the rest of this list.

2. The Sacred Search by Gary Thomas

I rarely read and less than rarely recommend books on dating, but this one is worth reading. Thomas has loads of credibility with me, because he also wrote Sacred Marriage, Sacred Parenting, among others. Single friends, do yourself a favor and give this one a read.

3. On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness (#1 of the Wingfeather Saga) by Andrew Peterson

I’ve written about this book before, when I read it the first time, but I just love it that much! Also, the 4th and final book in the series is set to release in 2014, so I needed a refresher. I so appreciate the quirky lovable characters woven into this fantasy world of good and evil. Is it written more toward kids than adults? Yes. This absolutely belongs in the “pro” column.

4. I Will Carry You: The Sacred Dance of Grief and Joy by Angie Smith

This book was definitely a wild card in the mix, but I saw Angie at the IF Gathering last month, and immediately loved her. She kicked off her writing career a few years ago, after the hugest heartbreak in a mother’s life: losing a child. Books like this are the reason I believe in writing. Angie articulates what no one else wants to talk about. I cried through the whole thing, but I fell more in love with Jesus the whole time. She wrote of the way she trusted the One who holds the world together, even in the midst of the unthinkable. Beautiful.

5. Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple

I had seen this book mentioned and recommended on numerous blogs in the past year, so I decided to give it a go. This is more of a beach/vacation read, for pure entertainment purposes. I loved getting caught up in the story, and not knowing what was coming next until it was over! Set in Seattle, Bee puts a book together to discover what really happened to her mom. The mystery and weirdness of the elite upperclass unfolds, and I totally loved it. (Note: there is a little bit of language in this one, just for full disclosure.)

6. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Ohh I loved this book! Set in Nazi Germany, this story follows the life of a German girl, who was too young to grasp most of what was happening, but we get to watch and feel as she starts to get it. Somehow, this horrific slice of time has been told in a beautiful form, and that is indeed a feat in itself. I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I’ve heard only the best things.

So. There you have it: the insights to my late-night reading. I never pick up a book without a recommendation, so I’d love to hear what you’ve been reading too!

PS- If you don’t have a Library card (and yes, I know it’s 2014), this will change your life [and your budget]. Most libraries have ebook libraries now too, plus an online request system! Totally brilliant.

Leave a Reply

