One Year Later

How crazy is it that this happened one year ago?!
IMG_3777It feels so crazy to me, in fact, that I completely missed the one year official anniversary. Airport day was June 21, 2013. James and Betty finally got to come home, American flags in hand!

I remember writing in my journal last May, while I sat in the airport on my way over to Uganda to meet these two. I wrote about this day- the one that would mark a separation of time in my life: Before meeting James and Betty, and after. My writings have proved to be true, and I cannot imagine living life today as our family without them!

I look back at that picture up there, and oh my- what a difference a year makes! First of all, I think they’ve each grown at least 6 inches. They look like babies to me here!

It has been a year of firsts: birthday parties, learning to swim & jump off diving boards, trying hot dogs (“is that made of a dog?!”), planting a garden, celebrating Christmas, driving through a city with really tall buildings, sitting in the stands at a football game, playing soccer on a real team, playing basketball in the first games they’d ever even seen, sparklers on New Year’s Eve, endlessly riding bikes with the neighborhood kids, road trips, museums, school plays, learning American patriotic songs, becoming BFF with the cousins, going to movie theaters, learning math, reading for fun, trying out (& acing) tennis, countless games of Sorry, school friends, camping trips, and just being home with a forever family.

We cannot imagine life without these two. We are abundantly thankful, and I can’t wait to see how the Lord will continue to write our stories! God is so good, even when we couldn’t possibly see the good that He has planned.

“Oh sing to the Lord a new song; sing to the Lord all the earth! Sing to the Lord, bless his name; tell of his salvation from day to day. Declare his glory among the nations, his marvelous works among all the peoples! … Ascribe to the Lord, O families of the peoples, ascribe to the Lord glory and strength! … Let the heavens be glad, and let the earth rejoice; let the sea roar, and all that fills it.”  -Psalm 96:1-3, 7, & 11

^^This psalm is one of the most-read and most-underlined chapter of my Bible. I love it. The day they came home from Uganda all I could do was sing praise.. This has become my great psalm of remembrance. 

Love these kids. Adoption is certainly not easy, but it is so good. We have much to celebrate!

IMG_3740IMG_3795IMG_3782IMG_3807

 

2 thoughts on “One Year Later

Leave a Reply

